SAD announces two more candidates for Punjab elections 2022

With the Punjab Assembly elections scheduled for 2022, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) president Sukhbir Singh Badal on Monday announced two more candidates.

Bibi Jagir Kaur, former president of the SGPC, will contest from Bholath while Bikram Singh Majitha, former Cabinet Minister, will contest from the Majitha Assembly constituency.

Also read | South Africans who tested Covid positive in Bengaluru infected with Delta variant

Amritsar: Bibi Jagir Kaur is SGPC chief for fourth time | Amritsar News - Times of India
Bibi Jagir Kaur

The Shiromani Akali Dal has so far announced a total of 89 candidates for the Punjab Assembly elections scheduled for 2022.

On November 28, SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal had named Nusrat Ali Khan as party candidate from Malerkotla; Rohit Vohra from Ferozepur, Gur Iqbal S Mahal from Quadian and Rajanbir Singh from Sri Hargobindpur Assembly constituencies.

Bikram Majithia had a role in facilitating supply of drugs to Canadian NRIs: STF report - Hindustan Times
Bikram Singh Majithia

Earlier, the SAD had announced Yunas Mohammad as party candidate from Malerkotla. However, his name has been withdrawn and has been replaced by Nusrat Ali Khan.

Also read | SAD announces 4 more candidates for Punjab Assembly elections 2022

The SAD has forged an alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) for the upcoming polls. According to the seat-sharing arrangement between the two political parties, the Mayawati-led BSP will field candidates from 20 of the 117 Assembly seats in Punjab, while the remaining seats will be contested by the SAD.

-PTC News