Ludhiana South

Punjab Assembly Elections 2022: Ludhiana South constituency is located in the Ludhiana district of Punjab. It is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha. Lok Insaaf Party’s (LIP) Balwinder Singh Bains won the last assembly elections and is the current MLA of Ludhiana South.

He won the 2017 elections by defeating Congress’ Bhupinder Sidhu with a margin of 30,917 votes.


According to the voter list for the 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in the constituency is 1,49,455. 152 polling stations were established by the election commission during these elections.

A total of 1,01,562 votes were cast in the Ludhiana South constituency and the percentage was 67.95%, which was recorded lower than the state average.


Lok Insaaf Party’s (LIP) Balwinder Singh Bains, Shiromani Akali Dal’s Hira Singh Gabria and Congress’ Bhupinder Singh Sidhu were MLA candidates for the Ludhiana South constituency in the 2017 Punjab assembly elections.

Balwinder Singh Bains (LIP) grabbed 53,955 votes, while Bhupinder Sidhu (Congress) got 23,038 votes. Hira Singh Gabria (SAD) managed to get 20,554 votes.

For the latest updates on Punjab Assembly elections 2022, click here.