Ind vs NZ 2nd Test 2021: India opt to bat after winning toss, Kohli replaces Rahane

Ind vs NZ 2nd Test 2021: India opt to bat after winning toss, Kohli replaces Rahane

Ind vs NZ 2nd Test 2021: India won the toss and opted to bat against New Zealand in the second Test of the two-match Test series here at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Friday.

The second Test will see Virat Kohli coming back to the playing XI and leading the hosts. The skipper has replaced batter Ajiynkya Rahane while pacer Mohammed Siraj made his way into the squad in the place of Ishant Sharma.

Also Read | Air pollution case: Why are schools open in Delhi? asks Supreme Court

Top five Test knocks by Virat Kohli

Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, and Ravindra Jadeja have been ruled out due to injuries that they sustained during the first Test.

Also Read | Omicron variant scare: DDMA issues guidelines for arrivals at Delhi airport

Virat Kohli's absence will create 'big hole' in Test cricket, says Ian Chappell

Speaking at the toss, India skipper Virat Kohli said, “We’re batting first. Looks like a hard wicket and not a lot of grass. With the sun out, it should be the best time to bat. Rahane had a hammie niggle on Day 5, Jadeja has a swollen right forearm, and Ishant has an injury too. We just have to do the basics right like in Kanpur. NZ must be given credit for batting out the overs on Day 5. We can be in positions to capitalize at home if we play well.”

Our friendship is deeper than cricket': Kane Williamson on hugging Virat Kohli | Sports News,The Indian Express

On the other hand, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson said, “We would’ve had a bat too. It’s been under covers for a few days, and so it might do a bit early. Unfortunately for Kane, his elbow is acting up again, but a good chance for Mitchell. It might swing with the humidity here, and we will get assistance, and given the pitch, it will spin too. We did well after losing the toss in Kanpur and hopefully, we can make use of the conditions here and pick up some early wickets.”

Ind vs NZ 2nd Test 2021: Playing XI

India: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand: Tom Latham(c), Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell(w), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, William Somerville, Ajaz Patel

-PTC News